When did Château Mouton Rothschild become a First Growth?

A. 1925

B. 1855

C. 1973

D. 1880


Originally (in the 1855 Classification) only four Bordeaux châteaux made it into the rank of First Growth:  Château Lafite Rothschild, Château Latour, Château Margaux, and Château Haut-Brion. In 1855, Château Mouton Rothschild was designated a Second Growth. The owner of Mouton Rothschild, Baron Philippe de Rothschild, protested vehemently and launched a decades-long campaign to get Mouton Rothschild elevated to First Growth status. Although the 1855 Classification was considered sacrosanct and its classifications final, Rothschild eventually prevailed and in 1973 Mouton Rothschild was moved up and became a First Growth.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.