Spanish cava must, by law, be made from one or more of seven grape varieties. Pinot noir, subirat, and trepat are the three lesser-known options. Four other grapes are the main ones. Which of the following is not a variety used to make cava?

A. Chardonnay

B. Ull de Llebre

C. Parellada

D. Xarel-lo


While Ull de Llebre (or “eye of the hare” in Catalan) is a Spanish grape grown in the Penedès, it is not a part of the seven grapes legally allowed to make cava. (It is, however, the local name for tempranillo). While chardonnay often adds finesse to cavas, the varieties macabeo, parellada, and xarel-lo are the most important. Macabeo is fruity and aromatic with good acidity. Parellada is the most delicate of these Spanish grapes and are often grown in higher, cooler vineyards. And you can thank xarel-lo for giving cava most of its personality by contributing good acidity and a generous, round body.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Other Way You Heard About Us
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.