Of the three quality categories of Beaujolais wines, the highest quality is Beaujolais Grand Cru.

Answer: False.

There are three quality categories of Beaujolais wine, in ascending order: Beaujolais, Beaujolais-Villages, and Beaujolais Cru, which is the highest quality of the region’s wine. There are ten villages—or crus—that run from north to south in Beaujolais: St.-Amour, Juliénas, Chénas, Moulin-à-Vent, Fleurie, Chiroubles, Morgon, Régnié, Brouilly, and Côte de Brouilly. The labels on bottles of Beaujolais Cru will usually name the producer and the cru only. The word Beaujolais won’t appear. (We love how helpful labels are, don't we?)

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Other Way You Heard About Us
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.