Cru Beaujolais are:

A. Basic level wines in the official Beaujolais classification system

B. Beaujolais wines that are aged at least four years before release

C. Wines from ten specific villages in the Beaujolais region

D. The term for a Beaujolais from a single vineyard


From north to south, there are ten villages—crus—that produce the most distinctive Beaujolais. The labels on bottles of Beaujolais cru will usually name the producer and the cru only. The word Beaujolais will not appear. The cru are:


Saint-Amour: One of the smallest of the crus.


Juliénas: Named after Julius Caesar.


Chénas: The smallest Beaujolais cru.


Moulin-à-Vent: The name means windmill, in honor of a three-hundred-year-old stone one that rises above the vines.


Fleurie: Among the most delicate and understated of the Beaujolais crus.


Chiroubles: The highest altitude vineyards in Beaujolais.


Morgon: Generally, the richest, darkest colored, and most full-bodied in Beaujolais.


Régnié: The last cru established (in 1988).


Brouilly: The largest cru and full of granite.


Côte de Brouilly: Located on the slopes of Mont Brouilly, an extinct volcano.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.