Which one of the following is not a sub-region of Rioja?

A. Rioja Alavesa

B. Rioja Alta

C. Rioja Oriental

D. Rioja Centro


OK, we just made up Rioja Centro. Rioja is divided into three subregions: Rioja Alta, Rioja Alavesa, and Rioja Oriental (formerly known as Rioja Baja). What are generally considered to be the finest tempranillo grapes come from the Rioja Alta and Rioja Alavesa which, being higher and farther north and west, toward the Atlantic, experience a cooler climate. The land then slopes downward to the warmer, lower, drier Rioja Baja in the southeast—the only part of Rioja that experiences a more Mediterranean climate. Grapes there (often garnacha in addition to tempranillo) make wines that tend to be higher in alcohol and lower in acidity.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Other Way You Heard About Us
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.