Which of the following is not officially a taste?

A. Sweet

B. Bitter

C. Salty

D. Fruity


The five tastes are sweetness, sourness, saltiness, bitterness, and umami (a Japanese word usually defined as savoriness). All five tastes are associated with specific receptors within your taste buds. Fruitiness, by contrast, is a simply a descriptive characteristic for a wine or food that is evocative of fruit flavors.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Other Way You Heard About Us
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.