The age of the oldest legally recognized wine region in France, also known as an AOC (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée). While it is often stated that Châteauneuf-du-Pape was the first, there were actually five other regions pronounced as AOCs on the same day (May 15, 1936)–Arbois, Tavel, Cognac, Cassis, Monbazillac.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Other Way You Heard About Us
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.