Share

There are two types of kosher wine—mevushal and non-mevushal. Both must be handled by Sabbath-observant Jews if the wine is to remain kosher.

Answer: False.

OK, this is a tough one. But, of the two, only non-mevushal kosher wine (kosher means "fit" and, thus, kosher wines are considered fit to drink) must be made, handled, bottled, certified, opened, poured, and drunk by Sabbath-observant Jews for the wine to keep its kosher status. Mevushal (literally, "cooked") kosher wine is a far more common type. It is made exactly the same way as non-mevushal wine except for one crucial fact—it's pasteurized and cantherefore be handled and consumed by non-Jews.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.