Virtually all of South Africa’s wine regions are located in a fan spreading out from this city:

A. Pretoria

B. Johannesburg

C. Cape Town

D. Lusaka


South Africa has six large wine zones—referred to as geographical units. Of these, only one is important for fine wine: the Western Cape, located in the most southwesterly part of the continent. The Western Cape is divided into five regions: the Coastal Region, Cape South Coast, Breede River Valley, Klein Karoo, and Olifants River.  Spreading out like a fan from the charming city of Cape Town, the Coastal Region includes the fine wine districts of Swartland (Dutch for “black land,” a reference to the local plant known as rhinoceros bush which turns black after it rains), Paarl, Franschhoek Valley, Stellenbosch, and Constantia (the latter is technically a ward within the Cape Town District). Here, there are no African savannahs. The climate is largely Mediterranean, with a beautiful growing season free of frost and rain.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.