Number of years ago this week, on April 18, that Bordeaux’s Union of Brokers sent their suggested classification of Medoc chateaux to the Chamber of Commerce. The classification—thereafter known as the 1855 Classification—ranked the wines into five “Growths,” from Premier Cru (First Growth) down to Cinquième Cru (Fifth Growth). In all, 60 Medoc châteaux were classified, plus one château—Haut-Brion—in Graves. With one exception (the promotion of Mouton Rothschild to First Growth), the 1855 Classification has never been changed.

Get WineSpeed

Join tens of thousands of other wine lovers. Get each week’s edition of WineSpeed delivered to your inbox every Friday. It’s fast. It’s free. It’s the smartest way to stay up to speed on wine.
Email address
First Name
Last Name
Other Way You Heard About Us
Be sure to check your inbox to confim your subscription.